jump to navigation

Winter 2014 anime and drama picks January 16, 2014

Posted by ayasawada in Anime, Drama.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’ve a long overdue 2013 review post in the works, but in the meantime, I’ve been working my way through the fresh season of anime and drama offerings. I have to be honest, the Fall 2013 season was nice but a bit meh in terms of my viewing, with only the spectacularly good Ando Lloyd really doing it for me (will try and write a separate post on that sometime). But the Winter roster looks good. This is what I think I’ll be picking up.

Anime

1. Nisekoi

Of the clutch of first episodes I watched, this is hands down the one that impressed me most. I was always going to watch this  because SHAFT. But besides the studio’s pedigree for inventive, playful visuals, direction and scripts that don’t take themselves too seriously, it’s been a while since I’ve watched a romcom anime. This looks like it’ll fit nicely.

2. Gin no Saji season 2

Looks to have picked up with the same quality from where it left off. I miss Miwa’s OP though.

3. Chuunibyou demo Koi Shitai! Ren

Follow-up to one of my anime of 2012. There was no way I wasn’t going to watch this.

4. Kill la Kill (continuation)

Into its second cour and still a rollercoaster ride.

5. Nobunaga the Fool

Trust Shoji Kawamori to come up with a wacky sci-fi mecha anime ‘reimagining’ historical figures in an inventive ‘East meets West’ space opera. Visuals look good, characters seem interesting, story has intriguing possibilities (particularly with the historical figures histories setting up an element of dramatic irony). I’m up for this.

6. Space Dandy

Hyped up like hell and a little underwhelming so far. But it’s Shinichiro Watanabe so I’ll stick.

7. Wake Up, Girls!

Realistic(ish) anime about a dying talent agency making one last attempt to save themselves through an idol group pulling together against the odds? Sure, I’ll bite.

8. Noragami

Wasn’t really sure what to expect from this, but the wacky concept, fun characters and good visuals should be enough to keep me casually watching.

That’s actually quite a lot. Realistically I’ll only have time to watch 5 or 6, so it may well be that the last two trail off into the land of the spare-time catch-up marathon.

Drama

In keeping with my ‘at least one drama a season for nihongo listening practice’ I have four I’m interested in, but realistically only time for one or two. I’m pretty sure one’s going to be Watashi no Kirai na Tantei because I love Goriki Ayame and Tamaki Hiroshi and this sounds pretty fun. Along similar lines, Senryoku Gai Sousakan also seems fun and has the Takei Emi factor. If I get time, Shitsuren Chocolatier and Yoru no Sensei may also be worth following (though I might just save up eps to watch on a rainy day sometime).

All in all, that’s a lot to get me through the cold, dark, poor winter months and post-Xmas, post-Japan blues. The question is: what are you watching?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

