jump to navigation

Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (2006) October 1, 2006

Posted by ayasawada in Film.
trackback

IMDB: Talladega Nights (2006)

In short: The story of a man who could only count to #1

Thoughts: Pretty enjoyable, hilarious in places, not so funny in others. A lot like Anchorman in that respect, but lacking that film’s more bizarre characters. It’s a Will Ferrell film; slapstick and bad jokes are what you pay for. But the package is taken up a notch by Sacha Baron-Cohen’s fantastic French driver Jean Girard. Here’s a film that pokes fun at everyone – pretentious Frenchmen, imbecile middle-Americans, women, men, cougar’s alike. It also has a tremendous heart, surprisingly, and a layer of moral goodness snuck into the multitude of one-liners. But then, I guess that’s what NASCAR is all about. This is a movie that gets much better in your head after you’ve seen it, as the quotes keep bringing back the laughs. And there are many, though a couple were much funnier in the trailer (“Help me Jesus! Help me Tom Cruise!” – too drawn out in the finished product). Come to think of it, I was always going to like this. 1) I have a soft spot for racing movies (I got the same feeling from this as I did from Cars and Days of Thunder). 2) Amy Adams – in glasses.

Comments»

1. Graminski - January 8, 2019

My partner and i and my close friends were being really going through your nice useful information from the blog site then a sudden created a really suspicion My partner and i in no way depicted admiration towards business owner for all techniques.


Leave a comment