jump to navigation

Yokohama August 26, 2013

Posted by ayasawada in Japan, Travel.
Tags:
trackback

Yokohama bay

Just a 30 minute train ride from Tokyo, Yokohama’s one of those places that I’ve always wanted to visit. Not for any particular reason other than its prominence in numerous Japanese media (a famous chapter in Honey and Clover for instance). Well, okay, maybe this time for one particular reason.

It was well worth the visit because Yokohama is a really beautiful city. From the modern architecture of Minato Mirai to the peaceful harbour-side Yamashita Koen and the bustling Chinatown (pretty much like any other Chinatown), there’s variety in both scenery and activities (including a famous ferris wheel) that makes Yokohama the perfect date spot. In fact, that’s what it’s known for – I hadn’t realised it before this trip, but all my friends were surprised when I said I was taking a day trip to Yokohama by myself. I thought they were exaggerating about it being made for couples, but it’s somewhat true – there were couples EVERYWHERE.

Couple

Yokohama’s easy to get to from Shibuya, Shinjuku and Ikebukuro and costs about 500 yen one way. I rode the Keihin-Tohoku line from Shibuya all the way to Motomachi-Chukagai so I could stop off at Minato Mieru Koen, a spot immortalised in Studio Ghibli’s recent Kokurikozaka Kara (From Up on Poppy Hill).

Kokuriko-zaka Kara no hata

Kokuriko-zaka Kara

I then had a pleasant few hours stroll through the city centre, Chinatown, Yamashita Koen and Minato Mirai, before heading to the Nissan Stadium for an afternoon of AKB. (^_^;)

Yokohama Chinatown

Yokohama

Yokohama Stadium

Yokohama bay

The one thing I didn’t get to do was the Cup Noodle Museum in Minato Mirai. I guess I’ll save that for my date next time. (^_^)

More from Yokohama in this Flickr set.

Comments»

1. A week in Tokyo | Canned Memory - August 28, 2013

[…] separate post. Beautiful city less than an hour away from Tokyo. Setting of Ghibli’s Up on Poppy Hill, […]


Leave a Reply

