jump to navigation

Otaku display cabinet July 24, 2010

Posted by ayasawada in Anime, Gunpla, Personal.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

A few months ago I bought my own flat.

One of my ambitions for owning a property has been to put my huge collection of crap somewhere. More specifically, I’ve always wanted a display cabinet full of gunpla, gashopons and other figurines ^^;

And here it is! (click through to go to the original Flickr gallery if you want the captions and other info)

Thankfully, this wasn’t as expensive as I’d imagined. Have a look online and you’ll find a heck of a lot of advice on inexpensive otaku storage. I discovered Ikea sell a range of affordable display cabinets including a few for under £50. This one is their DETOLF cabinet — very common in comic shops and otaku houses ^^.

It costs just £40 and features a lovely magnetic glass door and shelves. It also features an expandable hole at the top for lights if you so wish. It’s perfect for MG and PG gunpla, though the shelves do rattle a bit when I walk across my living room (possibly because I have wooden floors, so the reverberations are stronger than with carpet). The flatpack itself is also pretty damn heavy, but it’s easy enough to put together. You’ll need a second person to help you though, as the glass is heavy and you’ll want to be careful with it!

Ikea also have a smaller, wall-mounted cabinet (which I now can’t seem to find online) that looked good for those with a ton of gashopon. Maybe next year ^_-

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

