jump to navigation

First feature November 24, 2008

Posted by ayasawada in Personal, Science.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I had my first feature article for Wellcome published on the site on Friday. It’s only based on one interview, but the subject is pretty interesting and in keeping with my previous experience on developing country science ^^

Overall, I’m reasonably pleased with it. Am working up to doing something more in depth with a bit more research and a range of opinions. Will be good to have a topic to really sink my teeth into, though I’m sure it’ll be pretty difficult to piece together.

Otherwise, I continue to contribute regular news to the site. We don’t currently put bylines on the news stories (T_T) but this one and this one are all me. And this one was my first news article in the job. Most of the time I tend to re-edit press releases on stuff we’ve funded: for example this, this and this. Editing is bread and butter stuff for me, so I don’t mind doing it. It can be a bit challenging sometimes too if ther press release really sucks or I have to dig out the Wellcome angle. Of course, nothing beats writing and interviewing for your own article.

Where it gets a bit boring is when I have to do slightly promotional ‘announcement‘ news. It’s a great project, don’t get me wrong, but a follow up call like this isn’t exactly groundbreaking news.

Other than that, I’ve been doing bits and pieces for our various brochures, magazines and reports. I’ve even ghostwritten for the Director twice. So plenty of variety keeping me occupied. ^^

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

