jump to navigation

Pre-Parade (Toradora! OP) November 3, 2008

Posted by ayasawada in Anime, Music, Video.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

This week’s song-I-can’t-get-out-of-my-head is Pre-Parade, the OP theme of the new anime Toradora!,

The song is sung by the three main female seiyuu’s, Kitamura Eri, Horie Yui and Kugimiya Rie. It’s a good fun, catchy number, not to sweet and fluffy but capturing that crazy but sweet anisong dance vibe that makes stuff like Bouken Desho Desho so popular.

I really like the lyrics, which are pretty much about the main character Aisaka Taiga, constantly gearing herself up to confess her true feelings,  saying the wrong thing and subsequently beating herself up about it. I also like the (mild, but typically Japanese) use of an English word and its Japanese pronounciation to mean two different things — in this case the ‘Pre-Parade’ and the ‘Preparation’ (or ‘pre-pare’ if you were to shorten it in Japanese) of confessing and (hopefully) getting a good response.

Anyway, it’s ridiculously catchy and I’ve had the chorus cropping into my head at many inappropriate moments (usually in meetings). The anime is pretty fun too and growing on me week on week ^_^

English translation after the jump, taken from Words of Songs. The kanji and romanji lyrics can be found there.

Pre-Parade

Pre! Preparation!
Even though I’m not strong
Pre! Preparation!
I’ll catch you someday

P-re-prepare P-re-prepare P-re-prepare, broken into crumbs
P-re-prepare P-re-prepare P-re-prepare

When your guard is down, be prepared for an attack
Even though I’m small, I’ll grasp you like a flea

I want a plastic heart (plus, plus, but it’s a minus)
But from that point I’ve noticed there’s nothing

Love is bittersweet
Something amazing that’s simple, but complicated
But I worry continuously over confusing things
What is it? It feels like a loss
You, who’s sincere and eccentric
While I pretend to be tough and practicing full-body swings
Being honest is too stimulating and makes me dizzy
I get hurt, I hurt you, it’s a naive preparation

P-re-prepare P-re-prepare P-re-prepare, broken into crumbs
P-re-prepare P-re-prepare P-re-prepare

I’ll shine if I’m polished, there’s no such thing as limits
I won’t lose even though I’m smaller than everyone

Endure it until I approach you (endure, endure, patience is important)
If you come any closer I’ll break

People are tender and stimulating
They’re amazing even though they have hard times
Laughing and smiling even when they want to cry

What is it? It feels like a loss
You’re quick-witted and active
With a weak surprise attack to take revenge
Although it’s straight ahead, I give in to anxiety and I feel uneasy
In my mind, I’ll always be alone on the naive Pre-Parade

Love is bittersweet
Something amazing that’s simple, but complicated
But I worry continuously over confusing things
What is it? Not such a thing
You, who’s sincere and eccentric
While I pretend to be tough and practicing full-body swings
Being honest is too stimulating and makes me dizzy
I get hurt, I hurt you, it’s a naive preparation
In my mind, I’ll always be alone on the naive Pre-Parade.

Comments»

1. domestic cleaning services California - August 13, 2014

Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content.
Please let me know. Thank you


Leave a Reply

