jump to navigation

Japan itinerary February 25, 2007

Posted by ayasawada in Personal, Travel.
trackback

Right, most of the details for the trip have been worked out, but I’m still trying to book a couple of hotels. Worryingly, it’s for the first two nights of my accommodation. I don’t think Kobe on a Thursday will be too much of a problem, but finding a place for Kyoto on a Friday is becoming an issue. Everywhere I seem to find is fully booked! Damn Japanese school trips.

 Planning is exhausting in itself

Anyway, the plan is looking like this:

  1. Day 1: Arrive in Tokyo at 7am and shinkansen it all the way to Kobe to visit Aki and Jim. That may seem like a mammoth amount of travel, but shinkansen are spacious and comfy – and I can sleep – so I don’t mind. Plus, I think I will be buzzing on adrenaline.
  2. Day 2: Lie-in. Then head over to Kyoto to see Yuki. I think there are some temples I still haven’t visited yet….
  3. Day 3: Not sure, but I think I might find an onsen somewhere and chill out – Kurama is pretty close. In the evening, meet Ryo in Nagoya. He’s letting me stay at his for the weekend and wants to go to an Irish pub…
  4. Day 4: According to Ryo ‘have lunch then work in Nagoya Castle’. I hope that is a typo. Also according to Ryo ‘house party into the night!’. These crazy Nihonjin. Do they not work on Mondays?
  5. Day 5: Head back to Tokyo. Find my hostel in Asakusa. Probably do something light in the afternoon. Like souvenir shopping or taking photos of Tokyo Tower.
  6. Day 6: Kamakura here I come! If I’m not temple’d out already, I will be.
  7. Day 7: Moving hostels to a ryokan in Ikebekuro. The fun (and temptation) starts here. Am planning to check out the local anime stores and the secret otaku Mecca Nagano broadway.
  8. Day 8: Check out Odaiba for Tokyo Bay.
  9. Day 9: Loosen the wallet, its all day shopping in Akihabara.
  10. Day 10: Ghibli museum, then maybe Jinbocho. Moving to a hotel in Shinjuku.
  11. Day 11: Culture in Meiji-jingu, freaks in Yoyogi park, then more sights (and spending) in Harajuku and Shibuya.
  12. Day 12: If I’m not already broke (and over my baggage weight), I expect to spend my last day doing more shopping before heading to the airport. Boo hoo, holiday’s over!

It’s obviously not ideal moving around so much, but I figure the first week’s travel, adding the necessity to pack light, will curb my spending. Not like last time when I hauled copious amounts of crap all over Japan.  Also, there’s an outside chance Eric might be joining me, at least for part of the trip – which is good, since I’m a little concerned my Japanese won’t hold out for sustained conversation over four days.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

