jump to navigation

Volver (2006) September 17, 2006

Posted by ayasawada in Film.
trackback

IMDB: Volver

In short: A film by Almodovar

Thoughts: So much has been written about this already. I liked it, finding it much more accessible than Talk to her. That had an enrapturing, but disturbing quality (as I’m told many of his films do). But Volver seemed much more whimsical and I really enjoyed the sense of fun, as well as Penelope Cruz’s cleavage, which received much screentime. My favourite character though, was the sister Sole. Lola Duenas performance was wonderful and you could sense her smiling through a lifetime of insults and setbacks. I also recall an overwhelming urge to spend more time with my family and I think that communication is one of Almodovar’s biggest triumphs.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

