jump to navigation

Other stuff August 2, 2006

Posted by ayasawada in Personal.
trackback

A few other things happened over the last few months. I meant to write out some longer ponderings, but I never have the time. And now I can’t be bothered. Anyway, in summary:

  • We got the last issue of I,Science out. Download it here.
  • I passed my exams.
  • I got a distinction for all of my feature articles in the Print practical module.
  • I got a distinction for my multimedia website on ‘A short history of robots.’
  • I finished the taught portion of my MSc.
  • In celebration of this, Duncan and I held a SciCom BBQ on the Physics building rooftop overlooking South Ken. It was lovely and Phil donated a suitcase full of meat from his farm. Photos can be seen on flickr.
  • I had seven job interviews. Failed at Nature, as you know, and got absolutely chewed to bits by Research Research, who not only made me wait around for three hours but destroyed my writing in the interview. However, I did get offered an internship in Brussels and got to the second stage of three of the others. As it turns out though….
  • I have a job. Have accepted a position as a trainee commissioning editor for a drug information company in central London. Start in September (right after the course finishes), pay is decent, people seem nice, location is back around TCR, which is great and there’s scope for career progression. A lot of the thinking I’ve been doing as been whether this is really what I want to do and about the future and all that sort of thing. I dunno. I’m still confused about my writing, still pale in comparison to others and still a bit scared about entering anything sciency. But I won’t look a gift horse in the mouth and by gum do I need a regular paycheck pretty soon.
  • BTW congratulations to Kath who also has a job. Well done luv!
  • I started my work placement yesterday too, at SciDev.net, which is based just off Oxford St. I like it, though things still feel a bit awkward. There’s a couple of ex-scicom grads there too.
  • In the meantime I have to crack on with my dissertation, which is on ‘Japan, science and nuclear research’, or something to that effect. I’m a bit worried that I’ll only have a fortnight to finish it once my placement finishes, so it looks like I’ll have to go dark for a while and spend every weekend plugging away at the keyboard and in the library. It’s really interesting and I love the subject to bits (because it’s about Japan). Should be able to turn in something passable, so fingers crossed.

I’m looking forward to my sis getting back from Malaysia next week and just generally watching the summer fly by. Got some further thinking to do too. Whether that will help, who knows but there’s no time to think about that.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

