jump to navigation

Dreaming May 2, 2005

Posted by ayasawada in Personal.
trackback

It’s weird to think that just two weeks ago I was hangliding in Rio. I’ve said it many times before and I’ll say it again, time is the fire in which we burn.

On that happy note, it’s bank holiday Monday and a long weekend is definitely in order. To be honest, I’ve really needed a longer weekend to sort myself out. Work is still ridiculously hectic at the moment, as we have a rather big report due for release later this month. I won’t mention what it is, because it’s a rather controversial subject, but it shouldn’t be too hard for those that know me to work out, if you’re really that interested.

Anyway, the long weekend has given me a chance to finally catch up with my Japanese study. Term is ending next week, so I’m looking forward to a nice two week break (with which to go back and see what exactly we’ve learnt this past term! It’s all a bit of a mad blur I’m afraid….). The school is hosting a Spring Party on the 14th too so that will be a good opportunity to meet the teachers and other students in a more informal atmosphere. Anyone that wishes to join me is very welcome. I’ll be cooking some speciality Chinese dishes to bring along (and no, not just prawn crackers….well, maybe).

I’ve also been using this weekend to sort myself out for my upcoming student life. Yes, that’s right: I have officially been offered a place on Imperial College London’s highly prestigious MSc. in Science Communication! Woo-hoo!!!!! Yosh! Now, armed with my Career Development Loan application forms and course reading list (already??), I will prepare for the intense but interesting year ahead of me. Of course, I will still be working for four months, but no doubt that will fly by. This is a very exciting time for me and I am up for celebrating so people, please celebrate with me!!!

In the meantime I am also, as you can see, updating my blogs. I’ll have to back-date my detailed Brazil posts to make it more intelligable, so look out for those! It does indeed seem like a lifetime ago now. The weather particularly, has made the transition a little weird. Heathrow is a hellishly depressing airport to return to and it’s always grey when I return to the UK, but at least the weather is funny enough to have offered a bit of sunlight (and rain and hail and wind) over the last few weeks. I’m trying to remember as much of my Portuguese as I can, but it’s not easy when simultaneously studying Japanese.

Obrigado/Sayonara.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

