jump to navigation

Hot Fuss April 30, 2005

Posted by ayasawada in Music.
trackback

I’ve just recently realised how fucking excellent this album is. An indie band rocketing out of Las Vegas, I first got into The Killers through the teen advertising spot known as The OC (embarrassingly, this is how I discover most of my new music, since I don’t listen to the radio nor keep up with the general music ‘buzz’). With the OC Mixes being constantly on my iPod I developed a huge fondness for Smile like you mean it and Mr Brightside, the latter having a lot of personal meaning for me at the time. Chris O’Mara is also a big Killers fan and when we were in Brazil the DJ at Casa de Matrice and Vivo Open Air put on Mr Brightside and we went nuts!! In fact, The Killers became a bit of a soundtrack to our holiday, what with tracks playing in many nightspots and on our roadtrip to Buzios. As such, I have of course been inspired to keep playing the album since I got back (no doubt in a misguided attempt to hold on to the good times). And it is fucking incredible! I’d almost forgotten how good it is. Not just Mr Brightside, not just Smile like you mean it, but the likes of On top and All these things that I’ve done (all together now, “I got soul, but I’m not a soldier….”). The whole fricking album is good. I even love the dreary Everything will be alright, which I hated the first time I heard it. I urge you to check this out if you haven’t already.

Comments»

1. killers fan - January 2, 2007

u r so dam right bout this.


Leave a Reply

