jump to navigation

Anime in Brasil April 20, 2005

Posted by ayasawada in Uncategorized.
trackback

It wouldn’t be right if I didn’t mention anime in my Brazillian holiday, or rather my holiday in the context of anime. The city of Sao Paolo has a lot of Japanese immigrants, mostly now 5th generation and speaking ownly Portuguese! No chance to practice my Japanese then. Anime and manga are pretty widespread too, with manga common in street newsagents and the likes of Hi Hi Puffy Amiyumi on TV. Sao Paolo’s Japantown, Liberdade, also has a rather kitsch little ‘traders mall’ as I would call it, housing more than a few small anime stores run by fans for fans. I’m not sure if I agree with the printing jpg’s off the net, onto T-shirts for selling, but it’s definitely an eye-opener to see and hear anime in Portuguese! Not much use to me though

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

